Hello, world!

People have all kinds of reasons for starting blogs. They have valuable information to share. They want to connect with other people. They crave attention.

Me…I’m just lonely. I recently moved to Illyria, NJ, just 40 minutes from NYC. I’ve had horrible luck making friends: they keep post-poning our dates, their skeezy boyfriends act inappropriately, or they just never respond. I have a part time job teaching violin at ******* University, and most of my coworkers won’t take two seconds to get to know me. I’m looking for a playing job in an orchestra, and in the meanwhile, I still have four days of the week to fill up with something other than cleaning the house.

So here’s the deal: in return for listening to me whine about my life, you get step-by-step illustrated recipes by yours truly, and all the cooking tips passed down to me by my parents over the years.

Something you should know about my style of cooking –> five essentials to ALWAYS have in your kitchen no matter what:

  1. black pepper
  2. olive oil
  3. onion
  4. garlic
  5. salt

And here it is, the first recipe: WORLD’S BEST CHICKEN WRAP! I’m not kidding, guys, it really is the best. My boyfriend was working late, and I wanted to surprise him with a really nice dinner – and for the first time, he didn’t complain about anything! Did I mention he may be one of the pickiest eaters in the world? Sweet, sweet success!

You’ll need:

  • three boneless chicken breasts
  • ground cayenne pepper
  • chili powder
  • honey
  • wraps (whole wheat is best)
  • 3/4 cup chopped sweet onion
  • a cucumber
  • arrugula, spinach, or any kind of salad leaves
  • bacon (I use turkey bacon, regular is fine)
  • your favorite dressing

Pre-heat your oven to 400˚ F. Place chicken breasts on a baking sheet that is covered with aluminum foil and lightly oiled. Brush the breasts with some honey, and sprinkle with cayenne and chili (and, if you have any, sesame seeds). Bake for 10 minutes, then flip the chicken, re-brush with honey and sprinkle with cayenne and chili,  and bake for 10 more minutes. You can use this time to cook the bacon (extra crispy!) and dice up the cucumber in small cubes.

When the chicken is done, pour the delicious drippings into a frying pan with the onion. Cook on low temperature, until the onion is caramelized (10-15 minutes), and take off the heat. Cut up the chicken in small cubes, and you’re ready for the wrapping process! Toss chicken cubes, bacon, caramelized onion, cucumber and leaves in the wraps, and fold it like a burrito, leaving one end open. (Mmmm, burritos…that should be my next recipe!) For the dressing, I like to make my own vinaigrette by mixing balsamic vinegar, olive oil, black pepper and mustard. I bet it also tastes good with honey mustard or ranch. If you’re eating this on the go, dress from the open end, close the wrap, and wrap it in aluminum. I dare you not to like it!

Oof. It’s already 2:53. Time to hit the hay! More bitchin’ and cookin’ tomorrow.

Love,

Viola InTheKitchen

