Hi, world! It’s your friendless hostess again. Ok, so I’m not entirely friendless. I left most of my friends in the Midwest, where I went to school for six years. And I do have friends here in Illyria, NJ. My roommate Fabian is really cool. And there’s my boyfriend, Sebastian, whom I’ve been seeing for 3 1/2 years now. My lack of friends actually puts a lot of pressure on him, and Fabian’s schedule has gotten tighter as of late, so I started up this blog. I just need to kvetch a little. But I’ll kvetch later: now, it’s time for CHILI!

Let it be known, I love chili. It’s is tasty, healthy, and filling in a very pleasant way (does not sit in your stomach like a brick). And it’s easy. Sebastian is currently on a high protein fill, so beans and meat are an essential in his diet. Naturally, he is a chili enthusiast. As it turns out, so are our two roommates, Fabian and Toby. So I make chili in industrial quantities, in my (well, Sebastian’s, really) crockpot. If you don’t have a crockpot, a large pot will do as well, and the cooking time will be much lower, but you’ll have to stay at home until it’s done.

You’ll need:

  • ground meat of any kind (we like beef or turkey)
  • three cans of your favorite beans, mix & match at will (black, kidney, pink, red…)
  • one can of corn
  • one can of petite diced tomatoes (I like the kind with green chilis, or zesty jalapeños)
  • one large can of tomato sauce (15 oz)
  • one packet of chili seasoning, OR chili powder, cayenne powder and crushed pepper

Sebastian is not a fan, but I like to add finely chopped carrots, celery, onion, bell pepper and garlic.beans, beans

I started by layering beans and

corn

(without the juice)

in the crockpot.

 

 

 

 

 

Then, I browned the beef until it looked like this, just a tiny bit of pink here and there.

Added the beef (without the juice) to the crockpot, as well as the diced tomatoes (with the juice) and tomato sauce.

Threw in the seasoning, and mixed it up.

 

Now, all you need to do is cook for 8-10 hours. See, I told you this was easy! If you’re doing this without the crockpot, bring to a boil, then simmer for an hour or two, stirring every 5 minutes. This is why I love the crockpot. I start it up, leave for work, and come home to wonderful smells! Surprisingly, all this chili never lasts more than a couple of days at our house. Toby layers cheddar on top of his, and Fabian likes goldfish on his. Sebastian and I sprinkle a crap ton of tabasco on it. SO GOOD!

That’s it for now, I really need a shower. Laters!

Love,

– Viola –

