So I got off my ass and got to baking. Found this recipe on the Quaker Oats website, decided to tweak a little.

I used:

  • 1 1/3 cups instant oats
  • 2 cups white all purpose flour (I mixed 1 1/2 cups whole wheat with 1/2 cup white flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp fresh or 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ground ginger (my idea!)
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar –> I replaced this with 3/4 cup honey, it was a GREAT IDEA!
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup pure pumpkin (canned, or freshly cooked)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • optionally: raisins, walnuts, or chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350˚F. Mix the dry ingredients (oatmeal, flour, baking soda, and spices) in a medium bowl, and put aside. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar/honey with an electric mixer until the mixture thoroughly becomes light and fluffy. Add the egg, pumpkin and vanilla (I don’t actually measure it out, I just give a generous splash). Your mixture should look like this:

Add the dry ingredients in two installments. Mix briefly with the electric beater, then finish mixing with a spoon.

 

If you have raisins or nuts (or even chocolate chips), now’s the time to add them. The cookies are also fine plain. I save the chocolate chips for drizzling (see instructions below).

 

 

Using two tablespoons (or a small ice-cream scoop), form little balls of dough and display on a cookie sheet (NOT GREASED! the cookies won’t stick, they have a crap ton of butter in them). Each ball should be about 1/2 – 1 inch apart.

Bake for about 12 minutes, or until edges begin to brown. I like to cool the cookies for two minutes on the tray (they keep cooking, even outside the oven), then transfer them to a cooling rack, or a paper towel.

While the cookies were cooling, I microwaved four small handfuls of chocolate chips until they were melted (pausing every 30 seconds  to stir – it’s VERY easy to burn chocolate). What I should’ve done then was spoon the chocolate into a pastry bag, using the thinnest nozzle available. Since I’m kind of a cheapo and don’t own a pastry bag, I went with a plastic ziplock sandwich bag – just snip a tiny bit off the corner, and viola! You have a 7 cent pastry bag. The result? Very good, until the bag split and released a large chocolate slug on the cookie I was attempting to drizzle. So, if like me, you’re too cheap to get a real pastry bag (or don’t want to deal with cleaning one up), just drizzle the chocolate from a knife. The bag makes the lines very neat, though.

