Dinner last night was a SUCCESS! In my excitement, I forgot to take pictures, I’m sorry to say. But man, it’s so good to be cooking again!

The zucchini soup was the easy part. 3 zucchinis, thinly sliced (washed, not peeled), and some minced onion (about 1/3 of a yellow onion). Cover with some of that broth you have handy in your fridge (refer to this post –> https://violainthekitchen.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/apologies-and-a-broth-that-can-bring-you-back-from-the-dead/), boil until the zucchini gets mushy (about 5-10 minutes). If you don’t have broth, use salted water (though broth is SO MUCH tastier!). Transfer to blender and puree (just 5-10 seconds), and then transfer back to pot and simmer for 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. I meant to add some curry powder, but forgot.

Next, the chicken. Also easy! Rubbed three boneless breasts with olive oil, pepper and salt, baked at 400˚F, 10 minutes on each side. Portabella mushrooms were brushed and sliced, and tossed into a pan with some olive oil. after browning them on medium-high heat for a couple minutes, put heat on low, and pour some balsamic vinegar (about 1/4 cup) over the mushrooms. I let them cook on low heat for 5-7 minutes, and arranged them on top of the chicken breasts when those were done.

And finally, la pièce de résistance: pumpkin gnocchi with butter sage sauce. Just typing that makes my mouth water. I used the flesh leftover from last weekend’s jack-o-lantern carving (2 sugar pumpkins’ worth of flesh), which I’d baked for an hour at 400˚F. I mixed in some flour (a cup or two) until it turned into a soft dough. I boiled some water in a large pot [Rule of Italian cuisine: always use biggest pot in the house for cooking pasta] and melted some butter with a few fresh sage leaves in a small saucepan. When the water came to a rolling boil, dropped in little bite-sized balls of dough. As soon as they floated to the surface, I removed them with a slotted spoon (had to scoop as I went), drizzled them with the butter sage sauce, and served them immediately to Sebastian and Fabian, who didn’t complain! The one fault was that I’d forgotten to sprinkle a little kosher salt on the gnocchi before serving, so they were a little bland.

Recap: fun cooking, good dinner, happy roommates. Now, I really must clean the house, because I may be entertaining guests for both lunch and dinner!

Laters, world! Love,

– Viola –

