My father taught me the art of improvised cooking.. He does read and follow recipes on occasion, but generally, he just makes it up as he goes. Most of the time, it turns out great, but sometimes, it doesn’t work out. It depends on your gut and your luck.

Today, my luck and gut served me well (so far). Sebastian’s friend, Olivia, came to pick up a set of timpani she’d let the boys borrow. I invited her to stay over for lunch, and much to my delight, she accepted!

First, I tested one little gnocchi from last night (refer to previous post for recipe), but the dough hadn’t survived in the fridge overnight. So I started to make some of my dad’s ZUCCHINI FRITTERS.

You’ll need:

  • two or three zucchinis (washed, not peeled)
  • one or two eggs
  • flour or cornmeal (1/4 – 3/4 cup)

Grate the zucchinis into little strips (not too thin). Mix with enough egg and cornmeal so that the zucchini sticks together (you have to feel for it, I can’t give you a good measurement). Then, I drop silver-dollar pancake sized dollops on a heated skillet with just a tablespoon of olive oil, and fry the batter on each side until golden brown.

While I was doing the fritters, Olivia insisted that she should be put to work, too, so I asked her to chop some onion and the rest of the portobello mushrooms I didn’t use last night. We sauteed the mushrooms and onions in a little olive oil, and added a little balsamic vinegar when they were almost done (about 5-10 minutes). When they were done, we put the mushrooms aside in a bowl. Then, I pulled out some week old homemade pumpkin bread (not terribly fresh, but still good!), and toasted about four slices in the same pan used for the mushrooms, with a little olive oil.

I served the mushroom on top of the pan-toasted pumpkin bread, and the fritters in little stacks with sriracha. How’s that for a pretty healthy meal? And for a vegetarian lunch, it was quite filling! We bonded over good food, and decided to get drinks this coming Tuesday after work. Oh, and we’re going shopping this afternoon. I don’t want to get ahead of myself, guys, but I think Olivia might turn out to be a friend!

With enthusiasm and love,

– Viola –

