Every Wednesday night, Sebastian, Fabian and their friend John gather in the basement and play batá drums (no, they’re not santoria, they just like the music). I’m living with heathens (and loving it, as long as they’re done by 11 PM).

So, every Wednesday night, I try to cook up something tasty for the boys. Tonight, since I had a squash lying around and some ground beef in the fridge, I decided to make stuffed butternut squash. I didn’t have a recipe, nor did I find a good one on the internet, so I kind of made up my own as I went.

I used:

  • 1 medium butternut squash
  • 1/2 – 3/4 lb. ground beef
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/3 of a small yellow onion

Preheat your oven to 360˚F, and cut your squash in half the long way. Cooking tip of the day #1: When slicing a butternut squash, it’s easier to start at the fat end. Scoop out the seeds and strings, and rub some vegetable or canola oil on the inside of each half. Put the halves face down on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, and bake for 20 minutes.

While the squash is baking, mince the carrot, celery, onion and garlic. Over medium-high heat, toss 1 tbsp olive oil and the onion in a big pan. Add the beef, carrot, celery and garlic. Salt and pepper, and cook until lightly browned before removing from the heat.

Uh…the beef is not browned in this picture. But it’s the only picture that came out ok. Sorry!

Anyway. Once the squash has cooked for 20 minutes, flip the halves over, and fill the cavities with the beef (I had to dig out some of the butternut flesh to make room). Bake for an extra 20 minutes. Serve hot!

