Stuffed butternut squash. 3-bean chili. Zucchini fritters. Layer cake. For weeks, I’ve brought you fail-proof, home-tested, mouth-watering recipes. But it wouldn’t be honest to tell you that it always all turns out picture perfect. While I do luck out often, I undercook, mix measurements, and also have a horrible tendency to carbonize things on a regular basis.

This morning was one of those mornings. Sebastian and I had gone to the gym on an empty stomach and were cranky. I wanted to make protein powder pancakes, but couldn’t find the recipe I was looking for. After an hour of searching, I decided to make up my own.

The first two batches of silver dollars came out so tough that I could bang them on the side of the table without breaking them. So I added some milk to the batter, and the following batches came out liquid in the middle.

From left to right: Cement, Toughie, Oozy & Gooey

Sebastian was nice about it. He doused a couple of the rock hard ones with syrup and somehow managed to chew and swallow. And said that they were “fine.” Now, that’s love.

I’ll let you know when I find that good recipe for protein powder pancakes.

